OASIS OF ANTIQUITY-THE CITY OF KHIVA

Khiva is the only city that survived the weather blows and unexpected twists and turns of history. In ancient times, the location of the river near the city allowed its citizens to live and prosper. Capricious Amudarya having had changed its directions multiple times was the cause of the disappearance of many settlements nearby. But despite that fact Khiva continued its existence.

The first reference to the word "Khiva" was found in Arab geographical works, which stated that it was one of the stopovers on the way of caravans in X century. There isn’t any other early mentions of the town. They wrote that the inhabitants of the city were very hospitable and brave people.

Khiva is located in the flatlands bordered by a desert. A well with drinking water served as a base for the origin and growth of Khiva city. Later, the Hejkanik channel was built from the Amu Darya river , which supplied water to all the nearest settlements.

According to the folk legend foundation of Khiva is refered to the Prophet Noah, whose son ordered to dig a well and initiated the construction of the city. Currently, in the ancient part of Khiva there is a well which is the same age as the city according to the local sayings.

The organization of ancient Khiva

According to ancient chronicles, the town of Khiva was a very large settlement, with a beautiful and well-maintained mosque. These lands were considered to be the most extensive and densely populated, where residents were not afraid of hard-work and needed a little for life. Khiva used to be a leader in terms of population, size and quality of life.

Later the city fell under the onslaught of Genghis Khan armies. Inhabitants of Khiva bravely defended the city. A mausoleum was built later over the graves of the defenders.

Tamerlane tried to conquer Khiva 5 times but he managed to succeed only in 1388.

One hundred years later the city became part of the state, which was ruled by Shaybanids. Khiva was declared the capital of Khanate in 1598, the city was strengthened around its territory and had great 10-century-old history.

The Role Of Russia

In 1873 Khiva was captured by Russian troops. A governor-general of Turkestan K.P. Kaufman commanded a large military campaign. The city became a part of the Syr-Darya area of Turkestan. The Red Army managed to overthrow Khan of Khiva in 1919 and Khiva became the capital of Khorezm republic. The oasis land became part of Turkmen and Uzbek SSR four years later, which gained its independence in 1991 year.

Khiva has been continuously updated going through different times. Decrepit buildings have been replaced to new ones. Therefore the earliest monuments almost did not survive until our times.

Many Islamic educational institutions started to work from the 9th century in Khiva. Major research centers were rebuilt where scientists had studied astronomy, medicine, mathematics, chemistry.

In 1618 a building of madrasah was erected. After a small period of time Khiva became one of the religious foundations of the spiritual world of Islam.

Architectural boom started in the beginning of XX century during the ruling of Uzbek kungrat dynasty. At the same time the Minaret Islam-Khoja was built which became the main attraction of the city. A hospital and post office buildings were built too, which are still used in our time. Post office building is an architectural monument which is under protection of UNESCO.

Khiva now

The famous Central Asian traveler once wrote: the most noble and hospitable people live in Khiva.

The traditional warmth and hospitality is combined with fresh and juicy fruits from the fields of Khiva. The grapes, melons and figs are praised in the region. Large bazaar ranges national dishes and it is the most visited spot in the city. There can be found respected elders and colorfully dressed women. For young guys and girls, this is the place to meet. A variety of craft exhibitions and fairs will impress any tourist. Carpets with patterns made of small beads, copper chasing, musical instruments are only a part of the diversity represented in the market. Filmmakers use cityscape for shooting historical films. In the summer there is architects and artists gathering.

The ancient structure of the city nicely matches the modern constructions. The cultural center is constantly updated in eastern traditions of architecture. Construction of multistoried houses is in progress in the outskirts of the city neighborhood. Khiva is worth admiring for its beauty, work and creativity of the ancient people.

Major tourist sights:

Ichan-Kala

This is the old part of the city surrounded by a clay wall which length is more than 2 km, thickness of 5 meters and a height of 10 meters. Ichan-Kala is a state historical and archaeological museum-reservation. It is here where the traditional image of the Eastern buildings is saved. But the most interesting fact is that this is not just a museum it is a real town where families of artisans live.

Kunya-Ark Fortress

Kunya-Ark means "a fortress in a fortress” It is separated from Ichan-Kala by high walls. Once there were halls for receptions, the khan's harem, a mosque, and numerous outbuildings. Today only few buildings have survived: the Eastern Gate with guards, a reception, a cell AK-Sheikh-Bobo, harem, summer and winter mosque.

Madrassah Of Muhammad Amin-Khan

This is one of the most important symbols of Khiva of the old town. Muhammad Aminkhan Madrassah is the longest in the entire Central Asia. The façade is decorated with glazed bricks, doors are covered with original carvings, the intention is made in plant ornaments. Today it is a place where a travel agency operates along with a money exchange office, hotel and a cafe.

Kalta Minar Minaret

Kalta Minar minaret is a true symbol of the city. Its fundamental dimensions are truly amazing, its diameter at the base measures 14.5 meters and height is 29 meters. Designed by the architect the height of the tower was supposed to be 70 meters. After the ruler of Khiva Muhammad Amin Khan was killed the construction of the building stopped. The Minaret has many legends associated with its construction. This tower is unique.

Tash Hovli Palace

It's a summer residence of Khiva khans. Walls and ceilings of the harems are covered with unique ornaments in white, blue, and light blue tones. Windows have hammered copper frames. A wonderful carving on ganch has survived until our days. The walls are lined with curly niches decorated with distinct panels. Tash Hovli Palace is the greatest achievement of Khiva architecture.

Coordinates: 41°22′42″N 60°21′50″E   
Mayor: Davron Allakuliev
Founded: VI century b.c.
Climate: Distinctly continental
Population: 51 200 people (2004)
Name of the citizens: Khivan
Time Zone: UTC+5

OASIS OF ANTIQUITY-THE CITY OF KHIVA photos

All photos

Оазис древности – город Хива

История возникновения

Хива – единственный город, который выдержал удары погоды и неожиданные повороты истории. В древности расположение реки близ городов позволяло им жить и процветать. Так и своенравная Амударья, не раз меняющая направление и русла, являлась причиной исчезновения многих поселений. Но Хива продолжала существовать.

Первым упоминанием слова «Хива» послужили арабские географические труды, в которых говорилось, что в X веке так назывался один из пунктов на пути караванов. Более ранних упоминаний о городе нет. О жителях писали, как о гостеприимных людях, которые очень храбры в бою.

Располагается Хива на равнинной зоне, граничит с пустыней. Начало образованию города положил колодец с питьевой водой. Позднее был проведен канал Хейканик из Амударьи, который снабжал все ближайшие населенные пункты.

Согласно народной легенде основание Хивы отсылают к бытию пророка Ноя, чей сын отдал приказ вырыть колодец, чем и положил начало к строительству города. В настоящее время в древней части Хивы находится колодец, по утверждениям местных жителей, он – ровесник города.

Устройство древней Хивы

По свидетельству древних хроник, город Хива была очень большим населенным пунктом, с прекрасной и благоустроенной мечетью. Эти земли считались самыми обширными и густонаселенными, где жители не боялись труда и довольствовались немногим. Хива была лидером по количеству населения, по величине и по уровню жизни.

Позже город пал под натиском войск Чингизхана. Жители Хивы до последнего защищали народ от врага. Над могилами защитников со временем соорудили мавзолей.

Тамерлан пытался завоевать Хиву 5 раз, но ему удалось это сделать лишь в 1388 году.

Сто лет спустя город вошел в состав государства, которым управляли Шибаниды. А к 1598 году был объявлен столицей Хивинского ханства, имел хорошие укрепления вокруг своей территории и мог похвастаться 10-вековой историей.

Роль России

В 1873 году город Хива был захвачен российскими войсками. Большой военной кампанией командовал генерал-губернатор Туркестана К.П. Кауфман. Город вошел в состав Сыр-Дарьинской области Туркестанского края.

Красной Армии удалось свергнуть власть Хивинского хана в 1919 году, благодаря чему Хива стала столицей Хорземской СНР. Через 4 года земли оазиса вошли в состав Туркменской и Усбекской ССР, которые получили независимость в 1991 году.

Испытуемая временем, Хива постоянно обновлялась. Ветхие строения заменяли новыми, отжившее и ненужное безжалостно выбрасывали. Поэтому ранние памятники архитектуры практически не сохранились до наших времен.

Научное и культурное развитие

С IX века в Хиве начали действовать множество исламских учебных заведений. Отстроились крупные научные центры, которые изучали астрономию, медицину, математику, химию.

В 1618 году возвели постройку медресе. Спустя малый отрезок времени Хива стала одним из религиозных фундаментов духовного мира Ислама.

Расцвет в архитектуре города пришелся на начало XX века, когда у власти стояла узбекская династия кунгратов. Тогда же был построен минарет, названный Ислам-Ходжа, и ставший главной достопримечательностью города. Построили городскую больницу и здание почты, которые используются по прямому назначению и в наше время. Здание почты – архитектурный памятник, который находится под охраной ЮНЕСКО.

Хива сейчас

Известный путешественник по странам Средней Азии писал: «В Хиве живут самые благонравные и гостеприимные люди, по отношению к иностранцам».

Традиционное радушие и гостеприимство сочетается с мясистыми и сочными плодами с полей Хивы, особенно хвалят сорта винограда, дынь, инжира. На хивинском базаре большой выбор национальных блюд, он является самым посещаемым местом в городе. Там часто можно встретить почтенных седых старцев и красочно одетых женщин. Для молодых парней и девушек это место для знакомств. Разнообразные выставки-продажи декоративных изделий не оставят равнодушным ни одного туриста. Узоры ковров, изделия из мелкого бисера, чеканка по меди, музыкальные изделия – лишь часть разнообразия, представленного на рынке Хивы.

Кинорежиссеры используют городской пейзаж для съемок исторических фильмов. Летом здесь наблюдается наплыв будущих архитекторов и художников.

Древнюю структуру города не нарушают современные постройки. Культурный центр периодически обновляется, сохраняя восточные традиции архитектуры.

На окраинах города ведутся постройки микрорайона со многоэтажными домами.

Хива достойна восхищения своей красотой, трудом и творчеством древнего народа.

Основные достопримечательности:

Ичан-Кала

Это старая часть города, окруженная глиняной стеной, длина которой составляет более 2 км, толщина 5 метров, а высота около 10 метров. Ичан-Кала является государственным историко-археологическим музеем-заповедником. Именно здесь сохранен тот экзотический образ восточных построек. Но самым интересным является то, что это не просто музей, а населенная часть города, в которой проживают семьи-ремесленники.

Крепость Куня-Арк

Куня-Арк означает «крепость в крепости». От Ичан-Кала ее отделяет высокая стена. Когда-то в крепости находился зал для приемов, ханская канцелярия, гарем, мечети, множество подсобных помещений. На сегодня сохранилось мало построек: восточные ворота с помещением для стражи, зал для приема посетителей, келья Ак-Шейха-Бобо, гарем, летняя и зимняя мечети.

Медресе Мухаммад Аминхана

Это один из важнейших символов Хивы в древнейшем районе города. Медресе Мухаммад Аминхана имеет самую большую протяженность во всей Центральной Азии. Фасад декорирован глазурованным кирпичом, двери покрыты оригинальной резьбой, выкладка выполнена в растительных орнаментах. Сегодня там функционирует туристическое агентство, пункт покупки и обмена валюты, отель и кафе.

Минарет Кальта-Минор

Минарет Кальта-Минор настоящий символ города. Его фундаментальные размеры поистине поражают – диаметр у основания доходит до 14,5 метров, а высота составляет 29 метров. По проекту архитектора высота башни должна была составлять 70 метров. После убийства правителя Хивы, Мухаммад Амин-хана, строительство остановилось. Минарет обладает множеством легенд, связанных с его строительством. Данная башня является уникальной.

Дворец Таш-Ховли

Это летнее представительство хивинских ханов. Стены и потолки гаремов покрыты уникальными орнаментами, имеют традиционную окраску в белых, синих и голубых тонах. На окнах установлены кованые решетки из меди. Сохранилась до наших дней изумительная резьба по ганчу. В стенах расположились фигурные ниши, украшенные отдельными панно. Дворец Таш-Ховли является величайшим достижением хивинской архитектуры.

Координаты: 41°22′42″ с. ш.60°21′50″ в. д. 
Хаким: Даврон Аллакулиев
Основан: VI век до н. э.
Тип климата: Резкоконтинентальный
Население: 51 200 человек (2004)
Названия жителей: Хивинцы, хивинец, хивинка
Часовой пояс: UTC+5

Оазис древности – город Хива в фотографиях

Смотреть все фото